The Worst Kind of Nerd

I was thinking about Halloween and I realized I am the worst kind of nerd.

I should preface this post by saying that I wasn’t allowed to celebrate Halloween for most of my childhood which has made costuming this foreign thing to me. Almost every year I am a witch. When I was in the Star Trek club I simply wore my Star Trek uniform. Now, I am 30 years old and responsible for dressing a new member of my family. (I will post his super cute and already prepared Halloween photos on Halloween.) I also want to dress up with him because I want him to know that I’m having fun with him. I want him to knwo that it’s okay for adults to do silly stuff.

All of my other geeky friends have zero problems costuming. The only problem they usually have is deciding which of the many things they love they want to be. My son, Max,  is going to be a Jedi this year. My daughter has not decided as far as I know.

I don’t want to go to the store and pick up a pre-made costume. It feels like cheating. I did pick up a costume for Jack because realistically, he doesn’t give a crap. He’s almost one. I wasn’t sure if he would like the costume, but he totally did and cried when I took it off. Also, the costume I bought Jack is a Rubies. Don’t judge.

I think part of the problem is that I don’t really look like any of the people I like. I’ll have to think of something.

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “All of my other geeky friends have zero problems costuming.”

    NOT TRUE! I’m one of your geeky friends and I have all KINDS of problems costuming. Eventually I give up, don a chainsaw and go on a killing spree.

    • Well, that isn’t really an option for me. For one thing, I’m not into gore real or fake. James is in no way going to dress up. We don’t technically have anywhere to go anyway, but it would be fun if we did to have something that I could feel confident wearing.

