And The Search Goes On.

I have been looking for a job for a year. I’ll admit that while I was looking in the past, I wasn’t necessarily looking as if my life depended on it.  I was still disappointed when I didn’t get calls, but it wasn’t soul crushing.

As I enter what is nearly the end of a year of job searching, it has become a very depressing venture. I realized last week that I am, in fact, depressed. It sounds so stupid, but it’s not if you think about it. I know that when people read resumes and choose people that it isn’t personal. I have been the person choosing before. I know exactly what the entire process feels like. I know that many of the people I personally rejected were not right for the job. Some of them, as mean as it sounds, I just didn’t like. I felt a bad vibe after reading the resume and I placed in my “Not Gonna Happen” file. I know that they aren’t rejecting me as a person. They are rejecting a paper representation of my background and skills.

It just feels like they are rejecting me.

I also know that the market is flooded with people looking for jobs. These people have more experience, more education, and do well in phone interviews. These people are having a hard time finding a job too.

I’ve recently begun receiving letters saying “Thank you. You’re completely qualified, but no.” I find this especially frustrating. I appreciate that they are not just letting me linger on forever, but it’s just hard to hear. I know that what it really means is that they have chosen someone else. I just really want them to choose me.

I love being home with Jack. I love seeing him laugh and play at baby time. I love seeing him do new things and try new foods, but I wake up every day and feel the emptiness of having no real purpose.

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on And The Search Goes On..

Comments are closed.

