What I Did on My Summer Vacation, Part One

This year, I decided that since the Summer is the only time I can take the kids to see their family that I would make the trip a priority. I planned to go mid summer, but then my grandfather and father both went into the hospital. We had to wait for everyone to get well enough to receive visitors and then suddenly we were at the end of the summer.

Finally, everyone was well and we were ready. We packed up my Hyundai Accent hatchback and stole away in the middle of the night. We left the house around 2am. (By “We” I mean myself and the children. James had to work and so he stayed home and had a vacation from us.) I drove through the night pumped up on 5 Hour Energy and coffee. Jack slept for most of the trip. Max and Annie stayed up for the whole trip asking helpful things like “Are we there yet?” and “How far is it NOW?” In retrospect, this constant stream of questions probably kept us alive since I was incredibly tired. It had been my intent to eave the house with an almost full night of sleep, but my mom ears were functioning despite the sleeping pill I took, so I really got about 3 or four hours of sleep.

Around 5:30am we decided to stop for breakfast since Jack was awake and unhappy. Unfortunately, we nearest to Quincy which is about as close as possible to the middle of nowhere. There is an exit, but it only leads to other highways. There is a gas station, but it was not open at 5:30 in the morning. We know this because I pulled in hoping to find something and found nothing.

Eventually, we found an exit that had food. It was, of course, the Waffle House. We ate and allowed Jack to bounce around. We had hoped he would sleep most of rest of the way, but no dice. Instead, we sang his current jam which is “The Wheels on the Bus.” Frankly, I’m ready to drive that damned bus off a cliff, but he digs it. We sang this song for the next hour. (I am not kidding.) He then was not amused with the song anymore and so we stopped at a rest stop to let him bounce around. Everyone took one last potty break after I warned them that the only way I was stopping before getting to my dad”s house was if there was an actual death.

We arrived in Daphne, Alabama just as Jack was about to have a mental breakdown. He was not the only one about to lose their mind. I am pretty sure I was a close second. We visited with Dad and Kaye and then Kaye took us to check into our hotel.

Part two to follow. Jack has been sick the past few days making blogging or eating or sleeping nearly impossible.

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on What I Did on My Summer Vacation, Part One.

Comments are closed.

