Dear Parents of Screaming Children…

I love children. I really do. I have three of them including one infant. However, when I go out I do not pay for the added experience of having your child scream.

Recently, my husband and I went to see a movie. We drove an hour away so that we could have a sitter. We got to the theater and paid $30 for both of us to see the movie and I was okay with all of that. However, throughout the movie there were no less than three screaming babies.

We went to see Transformers: Dark of The Moon. This movie is rated PG-13. You know why? Because the movie is best suited to people thirteen years old and older. Is a baby thirteen years old? No, they are not. The loud noises and explosions in the movie are not meant for babies and it makes them upset.

If we had gone to see a G rated movie I would have been totally fine with a little noise. It’s a children’s movie. You have to expect that. Annie one time threw a fit because I wouldn’t get up in the middle of the movie and buy her a snack from the concession stand. I told her that if she didn’t immediately stop we would leave. She stopped.

Yesterday, a group of us went to Chili’s. (My brother gets a discount so we go there more than I’d like.) The food was exactly as you’d expect at Chili’s since this specific kitchen had upgraded to the Kitchen of the Future. Within moment of us arriving a newborn baby girl started shrieking. She wasn’t crying. She was SHRIEKING. I had my son with us and he bounced and played the whole time. Granted, he is much older. When he was that age and we absolutely had to get out we did take him with us. If he began to get fussy one of us would take him out. I would take him to the bathroom and nurse him. We would walk him around outside. We did not allow the baby to make others uncomfortable. We did not let him scream for an entire hour.

Yes, you have the right to take your baby to movies and to restaurants. However, your rights end when they begin to infringe on the rights of others.

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Dear Parents of Screaming Children….

Comments are closed.

