The War at Dinner

My daughter, Annie, often has a hard time finishing her food. She has no medical condition keeping her from getting it down. She just is picky. She also will randomly decide she doesn’t like something she’s eaten hundreds of times before.

Tonight, she decided that she didn’t like cucumbers. I was pretty patient. I told her that based on the facts that I have seen her eat them and love them on many occasion and that she had a grand total of two whole slices of cucumber that she would be eating them.

The war began.

“I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them.”

I was beginning to feel slightly brainwashed. I started to wonder if, in fact, I had ever seen her eat them before. It began again.

“I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them. I don’t want them. I don’t like them. I never eat them.”

I seized upon the facts. They were my only hope. I thought back to all the times that I have made this child salad. I make salad a lot. Salad here has lettuce, tomato, green peppers, and… CUCUMBERS! I was correct! Victory was in sight.

I told her firmly that the cucumbers would be eaten. The battle lines were drawn. She decided to change tactics.

“I’m hiding my mouth!” says she.

I’ll admit, my brain’s first instinct was to yell “WE FOUND OSAMA BIN LADEN, PUNK! WE WILL FIND YOUR MOUTH!”

I took the better parental path. I did not waiver. I remained firm. Her mouth was found. The cucumbers were eaten.

Parent 1 – Child 0

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on July 10, 2011, in Daily Life, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The War at Dinner.

Comments are closed.

