Courtney’s Baby Food Cake

My Aunt Rayna and I were talking about cake a few months ago. At that time, we were talking about carrot cake, but I looked up some recipes after that conversation for other kinds of cake.

Yesterday, I wanted cake. I looked up recipe after recipe. I wanted one that used a cake mix and I found a few, but none of them were exactly right. I combined a few and came up with this:

Courtney’s Baby Food Cake

  • 1 White Cake Mix
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 12oz Baby Food Fruit
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
Place all of the ingredients together in a bowl. Mix for two minutes (either by hand or with a mixer on low.) Bake at 350F degrees. Your baking time will be pretty close to the package directions for the white cake. I baked for 35 minutes for two 8 inch pans.
Frost if you like, but we felt it was perfect without.
NOTE: Baby food containers come in various sizes. If you don’t have twelve ounces of the same flavor, just pick something that you think will go nicely with the other fruit you are using. I used 7 ounces of Pears, 4 ounces of Applesauce, and 1 ounce of Apple Cherry baby food.
If you don’t have baby food you can drain canned peaches or pears and puree them in your blender or food processor.
Only fresh apples or pears? Boil them until they are tender and then puree them.
Don’t look for problems. Look for ways to be successful.
About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Cake, Cooking, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great recipe today thanks for sharing. Food and recipes are really enjoyed by everything. It can be a great common interest. Thanks again!

    Feel free to check out and share this delicious Sirloin Tip recipe. It’s just mouthwatering!

    American Sirloin Tip Roast Recipe

