Review – Eggstyle Breakfast

Wednesday afternoon, after I picked up Max from school, I met my mother for lunch at Eggstyle Breakfast in Oldsmar. We arrived at 12:30pm, so I was surprised to see that there was only one table with customers. We were immediately seated and presented with menus.

Our server was very nice, but when I asked if sweet tea was on the menu she said they were “out for the day.” I found this odd because this is Florida. I have never been told that a restaurant was out of sweet tea. I’ve been told that they don’t serve it, but to simply stop making it at any point during food service is, in my opinion, bizarre.

I opted for a cup of coffee instead. (If you order off the lunch menu your meal comes with coffee or tea.) Our party had three people in it. The restaurant had two other tables filled by this time and they had two visible servers. I am still not sure why in a restaurant with so few patrons and plenty of staff for them we had to wait 10 minutes to have two coffees and a Sprite shuttled over.

After we ordered our food it took another 15 minutes, but it was obvious that my Turkey Chowder had been sitting. The top inch of soup was cold. After stirring the mixture became lukewarm and edible. My mother was furious that I wouldn’t send the soup back, but I don’t do that. It was communicated to the server that the soup was cold and she did offer to warm it up.

My and I ordered the Reuben’s off the lunch special menu. The sandwiches were really good, not Schnickel Fritz good, but good anyway. The sandwich was served with fries which were practically room temperate and low quality. They had a very gritty feel to them.

Everything on the lunch special menu is $8.95 and includes coffee or tea, soup, and dessert. The dessert was very good. It was a crepe with fruit and chocolate sauce. It was very good.

I can’t suggest that you visit Eggstyle Breakfast. The service was bad without reason. The food was served cold. It feels like a sinking ship. There was no manager visible to assist or keep things moving. Every time a customer walked in the servers seemed surprised, but they did nothing to retain the few customers that did come.

Eggstyle Breakfast on Urbanspoon

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Review – Eggstyle Breakfast.

Comments are closed.

