Ruth’s Steakhouse

Yesterday, Max and I wanted to go out to breakfast. I think he wanted to try out Steak n’ Shake’s breakfast, but I wanted to try a restaurant that I had seen a few times in passing. In addition, I love little diners or locally owned restaurants like Ruth’s Steakhouse. I convinced him to try this restaurant with me and I believe he was glad he did.

Ruth’s Steakhouse is located at 7409 Us-301 S in Riverview. It’s located in the same shopping center as The Riverview Flea market and the Dollar General. It’s a very honest looking place. By that, I mean that they aren’t trying to be anything they aren’t. They are a small restaurant that serves up honest food. The restaurant itself is a one room place about half the size of the interior of a 7-11. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

After you seat yourself at at table, there are no booths, a server will quickly come and take your drink order. The servers are all very friendly and they spoke to my kids in a comfortable way that made me feel like we were truly welcome. They serve Pepsi products, which I will admit, always makes me sad. Max ordered a Sierra Mist and I ordered a coffee. Jack was content with the contents of his bottle. The coffee was weaker than my preference, but Max said his Sierra Mist was the best he’d ever had.

The food is priced fairly. I ordered the breakfast special which included 2 pancakes, 2 sausage links, and 2 eggs for $4.55. Max ordered  a meal off the children’s menu for $3.90 which consisted of one egg, 2 slices of bacon, and 2 slices of toast. They only serve white bread. We also ordered a half serving of biscuits and gravy for $2.50 which was a biscuit sliced in half with a generous serving of gravy on top.

The pancakes were perfect and the eggs were cooked exactly the way I ordered them, over medium. I cannot understand why so many restaurants can’t get this right, but I want my egg whites cooked through. The sausage was acceptable, but the sausage gravy seemed to be from a mix or a can with chunks of sausage patty thrown in. Despite this, the gravy was good and for the price I thought it was fair.

Max devoured his food so quickly that I’m 100% sure he loved it. He ate the gravy and, despite better training, declared with his mouth still full that it was “GOOD!”

The meal total with drinks was $15.14 and I felt it was a good value, especially for Riverview where I have not seen many restaurants of it’s kind. I will definitely go back soon to try the dinner menu.

Ruth's Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

About Courtney

32 and divorced. I have three children and I'm working my way through everything.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Food, Ruth's Steakhouse, Tampa Bay and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

